Wednesday, May 13, 2015

Waiting On Wednesday #132: NOT AFTER EVERYTHING by Michelle Levy (YA)


"Waiting On Wednesday" is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine.

This is where we get to 'spotlight' books that we are anxiously waiting to be released!!!
The ones that we are dying to get our hands on and read into the wee hours of the night!!!
And, quite possibly, to make our shelves look pretty too :) 


What I'm currently waiting for... 


by Michelle Levy
Expected release date: August 4th, 2015
Published by Dial Books for Young Readers (Penguin)
Genre: Young Adult Contemporary
Format: Hardcover, eBook 


SUMMARY

A gritty but hopeful love story about two struggling teens - 
great for fans of The Spectacular Now, Willow, and Eleanor and Park

Tyler has a football scholarship to Stanford, a hot girlfriend, and a reliable army of friends to party with. Then his mom kills herself. And Tyler lets it all go.

Now he needs to dodge what his dad is offering (verbal tirades and abuse) and earn what his dad isn't (money). Tyler finds a job that crashes him into Jordyn, his former childhood friend turned angry-loner goth-girl. She brings Tyler an unexpected reprieve from the never-ending pity party his life has become. How could he not fall for her?

But with his dad more brutally unpredictable than ever, Tyler knows he can't risk bringing Jordyn too deeply into the chaos. 

So when violence rocks his world again, will it be Jordyn who shows him the way to a hopeful future? Or after everything, will Tyler have to find it himself?


Why I'm waiting on AFTER EVERYTHING... 

First of all, it's being compared to ELEANOR & PARK! Which is one of my all-time favorite contemporaries!!!

Secondly... it's a story that is calling out to me. It's rare to see a story about a teen boy being abused, struggling and trying to keep it together. I've read so many books from the girls perspective. 

Lastly, the whole summary has already made my heart ache. 
And the cover is really unique! I'm really looking forward to it!


SO, what are you waiting for right now?!?!?!


3 comments:

  1. Ya romance books are so sweet great choice this week!
    Waiting on Wednesday

    ReplyDelete
  2. I'm so glad I stumbled upon this WoW!! I absolutely loved The Spectacular Now and the blurb here sounds so painstakingly beautiful I HAVE to read this when it comes out! Thanks so much for sharing!!!

    Sherry@ theBloggityBLOG

    ReplyDelete
  3. This sounds fantastic! I'm definitely adding it to my tbr! Great pick!

    Michelle @ Michelle's Minions

    My WoW

    ReplyDelete

Thank you so much for stopping by and leaving a comment today!
If you are asking a question and you are a no-reply commenter,
please email me directly at thebumblegirl at rocketmail dot com...
thanks much and happy reading :)

 
Imagination Designs
Images by LabyrinthofDreams