Wednesday, January 21, 2015

Waiting On Wednesday #116: VALIANT by Sarah McGuire (MG)


"Waiting On Wednesday" is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine.

This is where we get to 'spotlight' books that we are anxiously waiting to be released!!!
The ones that we are dying to get our hands on and read into the wee hours of the night!!!
And, quite possibly, to make our shelves look pretty too :) 


What I'm currently waiting for... 


by Sarah McGuire
Expected release date: June 9th, 2015
Published by: Egmont USA
Genre: Middle Grade Fairytale Retelling
Format: Hardcover, eBook


SUMMARY

A debut fairy tale retelling featuring a strong female character and a daring quest just right for fans of Shannon Hale, Jessica Day George, and Gail Carson Levine.

Saville despises the bolts of velvet and silk that her father loves- he's always prized them more than he's ever loved her. Yet when he's struck ill, she'll do anything to survive, even donning boys' clothes and begging a commission to sew for the king.

Piecing together a fine coat is far simpler than unknotting court gossip about an army of giants led by a man who cannot be defeated. And they're marching toward Reggen to seize the throne. But Saville knows giants are just stories, and no man is immortal.

Then she meets them, two scouts as tall as trees. She tricks them into leaving, but tales of the daring tailor's triumph quickly spin into impossible feats of giant-slaying. And mere stories won't deter the Duke and his larger-than-life army.

Now only a courageous and clever tailor girl can see beyond the rumors to save the kingdom again. 

Valiant richly reimagines "The Brave Little Tailor," transforming it into a story of understanding, identity, and fighting to protect those you love most.


Why I'm waiting for VALIANT...

Firstly... it is a fairytale retelling of THE BRAVE LITTLE TAILOR!!!
Who doesn't remember watching Disney's 1938 short film starring Mickey Mouse?! As a child, I used to watch it over and over again :) Luckily for me, my dad and sister enjoyed it as well!
However, the original fairytale is called THE VALIANT LITTLE TAILOR, a German fairytale written by the Brothers Grimm. Obviously this version is a bit darker than the Mickey one. I am very curious to see what direction the author has decided to go with her version... 

Secondly... that cover!!! 
I'm not a fan of the color purple, but, this works so perfectly for the theme of this book!!!

Lastly... the writing is being compared to some heavy hitters - how can I not give this debut a try!!!


SO, what are you waiting for???

3 comments:

  1. This looks like an interesting book to read, I guess I should add it to my to-be-read list then. Great choice by the way.
    My Waiting On Wednesday!

    ReplyDelete
  2. This is new to me. Looks good. I hope you enjoy it! MyWOW

    ReplyDelete

Thank you so much for stopping by and leaving a comment today!
If you are asking a question and you are a no-reply commenter,
please email me directly at thebumblegirl at rocketmail dot com...
thanks much and happy reading :)

 
Imagination Designs
Images by LabyrinthofDreams