Friday, April 17, 2015

Blog Tour (Excerpt, Review and Giveaway): THE TRUTH ABOUT US by Janet Gurtler (YA)


http://www.jeanbooknerd.com/2015/02/the-truth-about-us-by-janet-gurtler.html

THE TRUTH ABOUT US
by Janet Gurtler
Release date: April 7th, 2015
Published by Sourcebooks Fire
Genre: Young Adult Contemporary
Format: Paperback, eBook
Format read: ARC from the publisher.

SUMMARY

A powerful and gripping contemporary YA from the author of I'm Not Her that's "Just right for fans of Sarah Dessen and Jodi Picoult."-Booklist

The truth is that Jess knows she screwed up.
She's made mistakes, betrayed her best friend, and now she's paying for it. Her dad is making her spend the whole summer volunteering at the local soup kitchen.

The truth is she wishes she was the care-free party-girl everyone thinks she is.
She pretends it's all fine. That her "perfect" family is fine. But it's not. And no one notices the lie...until she meets Flynn. He's the only one who really sees her. The only one who listens.

The truth is that Jess is falling apart – and no one seems to care.
But Flynn is the definition of "the wrong side of the tracks." When Jess's parents look at him they only see the differences-not how much they need each other. They don't get that the person who shouldn't fit in your world... might just be the one to make you feel like you belong.


BUY LINKS




EXCERPT

I’m about to put my tools away when I spot an Ivy wilted and close to dying.  I clip and spray the leaves, chattering to it the whole time. “Come on little guy, give it your all, you can do it,” I tell it.
“You talk to plants?”
I jump and glance behind me. Flynn is a few feet away. His dark eyes sparkle with amusement. He’s wearing the shit out of his jeans and plain white t-shirt. “I didn’t hear you come in,” Now that his presence is known, it overtakes the room.
He walks closer and I inhale deeply.
“You were giving that plant shit.” He walks up beside me and reaches out to touch the plant.
“No. I was giving the plant encouragement,” I tell him. “Big difference.” My skin tingles and everything in the greenhouse seems more alive and brighter. I clip another leaf and start gathering the tools to put them back in the cupboard. “How’d you get in?”
Flynn lifts his finger and a key dangles. “Stella keeps an extra key in her office. Wilf lets me come here alone sometimes. I like the air.” He glances at me. “Weird?”
“Not weird. Green thumb.” I hold my thumb up in the air.
“Yeah, Wilf told me your thumb is green.” He looks at the miniature hoe I’m holding. “Looks like you’re pretty handy with a hoe,” Flynn says.
“Your brother said you were too.” I place my hand over my mouth and giggle at my own joke.
“Very funny.” He pushes back his bangs. “I really hope Kyle has no idea what a ho is.” Flynn helps me carry a few things back to the cupboard. 
I smile. “Doubtful. Not yet.” I stand on my tiptoes to place tools back in the cupboard. “I didn’t see you at lunch.”
“You noticed?”
My cheeks warm. He obviously doesn’t know my entire shift revolves around whether he shows up or not. The silence gets louder and I search for something that doesn’t sound stupid. “I’m glad you came.”
He tilts his head. The hair on my arms stands to attention.  “Do I make you nervous?” he asks. And then he grins. Slowly. 
“No,” I lie barely able to breath.
“I don’t know about that,” he says. It sounds like a challenge.
“About what?” I can’t focus. I don’t know where to look or what to do with my hands. 
“I make you nervous,” he says. His voice is low, almost a whisper.
My cheeks burn and I stare at him, mesmerized. He licks his bottom lip. The air between us sparks.
My face gets hotter. I remember what Mom used to say about Dad before she retreated into her shell.  “We don’t always choose the ones we fall for. Sometimes the chemistry chooses us.”
Is that what this is? Chemistry. Because it feels wonderful. And also scares the shit out of me. It’s more real than anything I’ve felt lately. And dangerous.

I like it. 



MY REVIEW
















GIVEAWAY

- Giveaway is open to International.
- Must be + to Enter



- 2 Small Sock Monkey by Janet Gurtler.
- Large Sock Monkey by Janet Gurtler.
- Signed Copy of Truth About Us by Janet Gurtler.



ABOUT THE AUTHOR

A Rita Award Finalist and Crystal Kite Award Finalist, Janet Gurtler's young adult books have been chosen for the JUNIOR LIBRARY GUILD SELECTION and as BEST BOOKS FOR TEENS from the Canadian Children’s Book Center. Janet lives in Okotoks Alberta, Canada with her husband, son, and a chubby black Chihuahua named Bruce.

Goodreads / Website / Facebook / Twitter


http://www.jeanbooknerd.com/

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you so much for stopping by and leaving a comment today!
If you are asking a question and you are a no-reply commenter,
please email me directly at thebumblegirl at rocketmail dot com...
thanks much and happy reading :)

 
Imagination Designs
Images by LabyrinthofDreams