Wednesday, January 20, 2016

Waiting On Wednesday #147: SEVEN BLACK DIAMONDS by Melissa Marr (YA)


"Waiting On Wednesday" is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine.

This is where we get to 'spotlight' books that we are anxiously waiting to be released!!! The ones that we are dying to get our hands on and read into the wee hours of the night!!!
And, quite possibly, to make our shelves look pretty too :) 



What I'm currently waiting for... 


by Melissa Marr
Expected release date: March 1st, 2016
Published by HarperCollins
Genre: Young Adult
Format: Hardcover, eBook, Audiobook


SUMMARY


This riveting fantasy marks Melissa Marr’s return to the world of faery courts that made her Wicked Lovely series an international phenomenon.

Lilywhite Abernathy is a criminal — she’s half human, half fae, and since the time before she was born, a war has been raging between humans and faeries. The Queen of Blood and Rage, ruler of the fae courts, wants to avenge the tragic death of her heir due to the actions of reckless humans.

Lily’s father has always shielded her, but when she’s sent to the prestigious St. Columba’s school, she’s delivered straight into the arms of a fae sleeper cell — the Black Diamonds. 

The Diamonds are planted in the human world as the sons and daughters of the most influential families and tasked with destroying it from within. Against her will, Lilywhite’s been chosen to join them... and even the romantic attention of the fae rock singer Creed Morrison isn’t enough to keep Lily from wanting to run back to the familiar world she knows.

Melissa Marr returns to faery in a dramatic story of the precarious space between two worlds and the people who must thrive there. The combination of ethereal fae powers, tumultuous romance, and a bloodthirsty faery queen will have longtime fans and new readers at the edge of their seats. 



Why I'm waiting for SEVEN BLACK DIAMONDS...

YESSS! A new fae story!!! From Melissa Marr herself!!!

Fae + tumultuous romance!!!

And a bloodthristy fae queen... I'm on the edge of my seat already!!!
Can't. Wait.


SO, what are you waiting for?????

Monday, January 11, 2016

Blog Tour (Excerpt and Giveaway): GOOD AT GAMES by Jill Mansell (A)


by Jill Mansell
Release date: January 5th, 2016
Published by Sourcebooks Landmark
Genre: Adult Literature
Format: Paperback, eBook, Audiobook


SUMMARY

New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Jill Mansell captivates with a madcap tale of the games lovers play.
Who will make the next move?
How does one become accidentally engaged? That's what Suzy Curtis thinks when she suddenly finds herself very publicly engaged to handsome Harry Fitzallan, local town hero. Harry wants famous rock star Jaz to be his best man-only he's Suzy's ex-husband and a recovering alcoholic. Suzy's half sister Lucille loves getting to know the family she'd never met, but she can't help her attraction to Jaz, nor can Suzy quash her entirely inappropriate feelings for Leo, Harry's engaged brother!

With all these wild players at the table, mayhem is bound to ensue. As each new piece comes into play, everyone has more to lose, and the only way to win is if you're good at the games of love...


BUY THE BOOK



Excerpt from GOOD AT GAMES

                Could there possibly be anything nicer in the world than a Curly Wurly?
                Alone in the office, Suzy lovingly peeled off the wrapper and admired the dappled chocolate covering. Then she bit into it, her teeth sinking through the toffee, her head twisting from side to side in order to bite off that first heavenly mouthful…oh, and they were sooo much better straight from the fridge…
                “Ahem.”
                Suzy’s eyes snapped open and she spun around guiltily. Damn, she’d been so carried away she hadn’t even heard the door open and close behind her.
                And, double damn, it had to be Leo Fitzallan.
                “Mmff…shorry…mmergh…”
                “Bitten off more than you can chew?” inquired Leo with a slight smile.
                Suzy’s mouth was full—OK, overfull—and the toffee was welding itself to her teeth like quick-setting cement. Waving her hand apologetically, praying the melted chocolate wasn’t about to spill out and dribble attractively down her chin, she chewed and swallowed, chewed and swallowed, threw the rest of the Curly Wurly onto her desk and chewed and swallowed again.
                Oh dear, not at all like the girl in the Cadbury’s Flake ad. In fact, more like Waynetta Slob guzzling a pizza.
                “Sorry,” said Leo. “I obviously interrupted a special private moment.”
                And swallowed again.
                Hooray, didn’t even dribble!
                “There.” Suzy executed a quick curtsy. “All gone. Now, how can I help you?”
                He was wearing Givenchy aftershave—none of your Tommy Hilfigers or Calvin Kleins for Leo Fitzallan, thank you very much—and an expensively cut dark suit. Suzy wondered if he had chosen the bottle-green shirt and blue and amber tie himself, or whether Gabriella had picked them out for him.
                Probably Gabriella. A man who drove a gray Volvo would never be that adventurous. And the dark blue in the tie exactly matched his eyes.
                Definitely Gabriella.
                “I thought maybe we should call a truce,” said Leo. “How does that sound to you?”
                Blimey, Suzy thought, like a miracle. Quick, give the man a bottle of water and see if he can turn it into Chardonnay.
                Aloud she said, “So what’s brought this on?”
                “My brother’s happy with you. By Christmas you and I’ll be related. The last thing I want is a family feud. Easier all around if we bury the hatchet now,” Leo said easily. “Put the bickering behind us. What d’you say?”
                He was even more attractive, Suzy realized, when he was in a good mood. During the last few days all he’d seemed to do was scowl, sneer, and generally radiate disapproval, which was sexy enough in its own way, of course, but it really was amazing the difference a few laughter lines could make.
                “I agree.” Her mouth curled up at the corners. “That’s it then. From now on we’re going to be completely lovely to each other. And I’ll just have to find someone else to bicker with.”
                “So long as it isn’t Harry,” said Leo.
                “Harry isn’t the bickering kind.” Suzy smiled sunnily at him and perched on the edge of her desk. “This feels quite weird, actually. I’m not sure what we’re supposed to do now. If this were Friends we’d be giving each other a group hug.”
                For a split second something indefinable flickered in Leo’s eyes. The next moment it had gone. He pushed his fingers through his ultra-straight dark hair, heaved a sigh and shrugged as if searching for inspiration.


GIVEAWAY

(*Bumbles and Fairy-Tales will not be held responsible for any lost, damaged, unclaimed, etc. prizes.)


 ABOUT THE AUTHOR - Jill Mansell


With over 10 million copies sold, New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Jill Mansell writes irresistible and funny, poignant and romantic tales for women in the tradition of Marian Keyes, Sophie Kinsella and Jojo Moyes. 

She lives with her partner and their children in Bristol, England.





 
Imagination Designs
Images by LabyrinthofDreams